Cap’n Jimbo can Kiss My Ass II

A further point I would like to make that as a professional rum judge I have tasted hundreds of rums and that when my scores are analyzed against almost any other judge they are quite consistent in terms of how I score a particular rum in each category. So I don’t see anything wrong with my perceptions. Also because of this knowledge and experience I like to write and review about rums I enjoy – not about the myriad brands of cheap crap out there. I don’t think it is ethical to solicit a sample from someone who I know before hand that I will mercilessly trash because their product is deserving nor can I afford to spend lots of money buying those brands so that I can pour a glass, review and trash them then pour it down the sink. I just don’t have that kind of money – because I don’t take money from brands for reviews. Not to mention I really dislike drinking cheap crap and try to focus on the positive. That’s why the scores of the rums I review tend to be high-not because I am “pandering” for free product. I shudder every time the Fed Ex truck comes to the neighborhood- I have no interest in just accumulating bottles of spirits-hell if I tried drinking all the samples I get I would have died of liver failure years ago-it’s just not a factor.
The same very much applies to ALL the spirits I review for all the same reasons – Hell I would go broke and die before I got through even 1/2 the vodka catagory never mind all the other catagories. If I had the money to buy more bad products believe me my website would have a large number of reviews that could be used as a thesaurus of loathing, disdain, and general negative adjectives and terminology. I would equal H.L. Mencken  in invective commentary. I just don’t have the money, time or will to tackle that – I prefer to highlight the rum and other spirits that I prefer and recommend for their quality and value – I don’t pander for booze nor do I ask for a sample of something in bad faith. Again if I know something to be bad before hand I will not add insult to injury asking for someone to ship me something at their cost so I can use it to write a scathing review. I think that is unethical and miserable way to behave therefore, I don’t do it. On the other hand if someone does send me a bottle of something I am not familiar with – the gloves are certainly off – it stands strictly on it’s merits good or bad – that’s just the way it should be and I stand by my decisions and opinions.

About Spirits Review

Professional writer, spirits reviewer and judge,mixologist and consultant.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

